I have put here unaltered customer reviews published on the app store for Wakaru App. I have added some comments/answers when necessary. There are 66 reviews so far.

Perfect with an addition - 5 stars
by euphoneMJ  - Version 2.2.7 - 24 July 2014

This app has proved very helpful to my Japanese learning. Certainly worth the money, if not cheaper for what it has to offer. So far, it has worked well, and I have not experienced any glitches. But I think the app can improve with a minor addition. When I need to view more than one article at a time, it is inconvenient and time-consuming to have to switch back and forh between websites. So, developers, can you enable the browser to open multiple tabs, please? The browser would be completed with that. Anyway, besides that, thank you very for creating this!

excellent app - 5 stars
by euphoneMJ  - Version 2.2.6 - 12 May 2014

Wakaru is an excellent, easy-to-use and common-sense app. It allows you to read Japanese articles, websites, books and anything else quickly and easily. The flashcard function is especially helpful to really learn words and characters without forgetting them. It's an indispensable app for anyone wanting to read Japanese.

Very Useful - 5 stars
by FaeDreamer  - Version 2.2.6 - 8 May 2014

This is a wonderful tool for practicing Japanese. It has a lot of e-books available at different levels of difficulty. I also love the web browsing feature which lets me look up words on webpages (I often use it for reading emails from Japanese pen pals) There is also a great feature that lets you add words you don't know to a list so you can practice them as flash cards. It's a great app all in all and I use it a lot.

Brilliant! - 5 stars
by yuukun_uk  - Version 2.2.4 - 17 April 2014

After you figure out all the functions, this app is a must for Japanese studies!

Great learning tool. Some suggestions for improvement. - 4 stars
by anarchyx34  - Version 2.2.4 - 26 February 2014

This is a fantastic and well thought out reader. The ability to quickly build a flashcard set and the built in SRS are fantastic. 

I do have a suggestion though. It would be nice if you could use iCloud to sync your books and flashcards across multiple devices. I use an iPhone and an iPad and having to use two different studysets on two different devices is driving me nuts. Also, it's nice that you can add books via the pasteboard, but being able to drop text files in from iTunes would be better for large novels. Still the best app of its type.
Comments from the developer
Import of ebooks via iTunes "File Sharing" is already available. It is documented in Wakaru help file under "Importing content" section

Brilliant! - 5 stars
by yuukun_uk  - Version 2.2.1 - 17 January 2014

After you figure out all the functions, this app is a must for Japanese studies!!

Awesome! - 5 stars
by Battlecakes  - Version 2.2.1 - 11 December 2013

Nearly perfect rikaichan like browser and aozora / ebook reader. Absolutely worth buying. 

I have only one thing I really wish were different:

I wish there was an option for continuous scrolling in ebooks. 
As it is now the Lookup Panel often obscures the selected text, especially at the bottom of a page. If we could scroll with the panel open (as it is in the browser) it wouldn't be an issue. 
Also a lot of people just like reading that way :)

Excellent app to improve your reading! - 5 stars
by Good or bad??  - Version 2.2.1 - 2 December 2013

I've taken the JLPT N1 test 3 times now, but the reading always beats me. I've tried reading manga and books before with my 電子辞書 at hand, but it becomes a chore. That's why this app is a godsend! 

Just highlight what you want to know and presto! The answer pops up, gives you what you want to know and then gets out of your way.

The rest is all just icing on the cake really. The flash cards work great and give you something practical to build up. Even if you were done with the JLPT I could see this as an incredibly useful app to have.

At 500 yen this is good value for money.

Real great tool - 5 stars
by Mirnkaya - Version 2.2.0 - 16 November 2013

A great and unique environment for reading Japanese texts and manga with built in dictionary and study tools. Whether you want to import your own PDF files, download stories from the internet or read Japanese web pages, this one tool is here to help. Highly recommend.

Smooth dictionary integration, great library - 5 stars
by markwandrew - Version 2.1.5 - 17 September 2013

Seems to understand what i want to select so i can look it up, which is rare for ios apps, where selection is mostly a PITA. It just seems to get better with every release and hoshizora bunko support is a great new addition.
Update 9/2013 still the best.

Simply excellent - 5 stars
by t3n - Version 2.1.4 - 4 September 2013

This is something I've been looking for a long time. Simple to use and extremely helpful for those who want to significantly improve their reading comprehension. I especially appreciate the vertical text option and the ability to import my own text via clipboard and export saved vocabulary. It's been a long time since I was this excited by an app.

Superb application. - 5 stars
by Maikusan - Version 2.1.4 - 1 September 2013

This is one of the best apps I have come across for studying and working with Japanese. The ease and immediacy with which one can access unfamiliar vocabulary has removed the pain and frustration of the more usual methods of searching to the extent that one can get faster direct access to a much better level of comprehension. 

Even more impressive was the speed and efficiency with which the developer solved a minor glitch I was experiencing. An unexpected and personal bonus.

I can't recommend it enough.

Good, but text is sometimes hidden - 3 stars
by nhoernig - Version 2.1.4 -19 August 2013

For what the app does and is capable of, this app is definitely worth 5 stars. However, considering this is a moderately priced app, the interface should be more intuitive, capable, and attractive (minus 1 star). On top of that, in vertical reading mode, the rightmost column is often blank as in that single row of text doesn't show up (minus 1 star). If the app interface and more importantly, that major readability issue were fixed, this app would be incredible.

Comments from the developer
The problem of hidden text in vertical layout is now corrected.  

Crashing - 3 stars
by Maikusan - Version 2.1.4 - 17 August 2013

I think that this is one of the best apps I have ever used for learning Japanese…however…recently version 2.1.4 has started to crash making it unusable. Every time I go to the library it crashes. I have tried re-installing, removing all pdfs that I have added in, but still the same problem. I have tried to report the problem but the link from the App Store takes me to a site where there appears to be no means of doing so. It would be great if you could resolve this. Potentially a great piece of kit.

Comments from the developer
The crash mentioned were due to corrupted PDF files.Easier to find contact info have been added. 

Really Great App!! - 5 stars
by Waynetta180 - Version 2.1.4 - 3 August 2013

Why are all the ratings gone? I rated it before. Anyways, this app is Fantastic. It's one of a kind. If you're learning Japanese, please don't hesitate to get this app. Try the lite one, & you won't be disappointed! It's tremendous help to my japanese studies. LOVE IT :) P.S the only thing I'm sad about is that it doesn't link to the Wisdom 2 dictionary app. I thought it would when I bought the Wisdom 2 app. Otherwise it can't be faulted. 
UPDATE: Wow the developer is great. Wakaru now links to wisdom 2 dictionary and "Japanese" dictionary app. Thanks so much :)

Simple but essential - 4 stars
by Simple but essential - Version 2.1.4 - 31 July 2013

This is probably my most essential japanese study app. Right up there with imiwa? and skritter. This is so good because of the ease of use on ios and the fact that it drives the user to learn real sentences and grammar. 

I wish the library import was better- rename books, better selection, less junk, the ui made more sense.

App ui: Sometimes the select tool bugs out and doesn't work properly. Very rare occurrence though. 

Really good. I use it every day on train.

Awesome app! - 5 stars
by lawliiuy - Version 2.1.3 - 21 July 2013

So useful for studying Japanese! I don't know how I survived without it for so long.

Really Great App!! - 5 stars
by Waynetta180 - Version 2.1.3 - 17 July 2013

Why are all the ratings gone? I rated it before. Anyways, this app is Fantastic. It's one of a kind. If you're learning Japanese, please don't hesitate to get this app. Try the lite one, & you won't be disappointed! It's tremendous help to my japanese studies. LOVE IT :) P.S the only thing I'm sad about is that it doesn't link to the Wisdom 2 dictionary app. I thought it would when I bought the Wisdom 2 app. Otherwise it can't be faulted.

Comments from the developer
Support of Wisdom 2 will be available in next version 2.1.4

Smooth dictionary integration, great library - 5 stars
by markwandrew - Version 2.1.3 - 15 July 2013

Seems to understand what i want to select so i can look it up, which is rare for ios apps, where selection is mostly a PITA. It just seems to get better with every release and hoshizora bunko support is a great new addition.

Perfect! - 5 stars
by Solid_Ninja - Version 2.1.3 - 3 July 2013

Great app!

An essential app for Japanese learners - 5 stars
by Hong Kong Learner - Version 2.1.2 - 29 June 2013

Thumbs up for smart word detection algorithms make it easy to highlight which word/part of a sentence to lookup. Built-in e-book reader for downloading books from Aozora is also useful. Overall very satisfied with app.

Smooth dictionary integration - 4 stars
by markwandrew - Version 2.1.2 - 28 June 2013

Seems to understand what i want to select so i can look it up, which is rare for ios apps, where selection is mostly a PITA. Genersl look and feel a bit clonky so one star remains hostage till they smarten it up. Functionality is great however.

Handy app - 5 stars
by Qwopp - Version 2.1.2 - 21 June 2013

Cool app. Takes a bit of getting the hang of but once you do it is very effective. Had a bit of trouble figuring out the back button on the study lists, but what do you know, just touch and bad!

Excelente! - 5 stars
by Jazzbrazil - Version 2.1.0 - 25 April 2013

Excelente app.

Really good but... - 3 stars
by Waynetta180 - Version 2.1.0 - 11 April 2013

It's a very good application, but the latest version just crashes on startup. 
Pity I can't use it now but I'll give it 5 ☆☆☆☆☆ when it's fixed.


It's working again! Yay! :D I didn't have to wait long. Fair play to the developer. They worked very fast to resolve the bug that caused the app to crash. 
I hadn't got the app that long when it stopped working but I loved it. I can't believe I never noticed this app existed until recently. I browse the Japanese apps very often. How did I not come across it? Anyways, so happy it's working again. 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Comments from the developer
This issue is corrected in version 2.1.0.

Where were you when I needed you? - 5 stars
by mortbag - Version 2.0.9 - 27 March 2013

When I first started reading Japanese, I had to have a dictionary the size of a microwave oven at my side. If only I had you then, Wakaru... But you're no less useful to me today. The PDF option is a godsend. Highest marks from this user.

Too good - 5 stars
by Corchox - Version 2.0.8 - 13 February 2013

Man, this app is great. With the newly added support and access to 青空文庫 it is now perfect. Thank you man!!

Must-have for serious students - 5 stars
by Seattlemusiclover007 - Version 2.0.8 - 10 February 2013

I use this app every day. It's the perfect way to read Japanese news since you can instantly look up and note new vocabulary.

My one complaint is that the back button is a little quirky. But it's a minor issue that doesn't affect the overall awesomeness and utility of this app.

Awesome! - 5 stars
by Bluefox413 - Version 2.0.8 - 23 January 2013

This app is great! My Japanese class has been using it to read books in Japanese and it is wonderful. The dictionary function works well and there are a variety of books.

Fabulous - 5 stars
by Jen Zarillo - Version 2.0.8 - 17 January 2013

This app is so easy to use and makes reading Japanese a pleasure instead of a chore. I wish there were a similar one for Italian and Russian.

This app is amazing. - 5 stars
by torchiere - Version 2.0.8 - 16 January 2013

Since the removal of the Japanese english popup dictionary in ios 6, you have by far the most useful and brilliant app on the market. You need to drive it like you stole it.

Anyone looking to learn real Japanese - Get this.

Ebook reader function Is fantastic! - 4 stars
by torchiere - Version 2.0.8 - 9 January 2013

My only complaint is that it loses the page and goes back one when you switch from portrait to landscape.
Comments from the developer
This issue is corrected in version 2.0.9 

Wonderful! - 5 stars
by Thicky_ - Version 2.0.7 - 1st January 2013

Great reader. Interface needs a little polish but it does its job. Highly recommend.

Excellent app - 5 stars
by Jetonabe - Version 2.0.7 - 30th December 2012

Great app for reading Japanese and creating flash cards from what you're reading. The flash cards you create can be exported as .csv files and used in other flash card apps. Dictionary lookup is immediate and non intrusive too.

best ever - 5 stars
by eddietrombone - Version 2.0.7 - 28th December 2012

This is the best app I have ever seen for extensive Japanese reading. The built-in dictionary app is easy to use, and the ability to make vocabulary lists is great. This is better than the newly released Japanese Kindle for those reasons. Thank you so much for this app!

Ótimo app - 5 stars
by tassi_ - Version 2.0.7 - 27th November 2012

A função de procurar obras por nível de kanji é muito útil.

Translation into English (Google language tools):

The search function works by level of kanji is very useful.

Perfect! - 5 stars
by Solid_Ninja - Version 2.0.6 - 3rd November 2012

Great app!

Amazing - 5 stars
by Rowess - Version 2.0.6 - 14th October 2012

A wonderful app that is well worth the purchase!

Sehr hilfreich, nur leider kein deutsches Wörterbuch - 4 stars
by Inuzuka - Version 2.0.5 - 22nd Sept 2012

Ich nutze diese App gerne zum Lesen japanischer Webseiten. Besonders auf dem iPad finde ich es sehr gut zu bedienen, auf dem iPhone ist mir das etwas zu fummelig und zu klein (das liegt allerdings eher an der Hardware, als an der App). Schnell mal zwischendurch einen unbekannten Begriff nachschlagen oder eine Lesung ermitteln ist damit ein Kinderspiel und stört überhaupt nicht den Lesefluss.

Leider wird aber kein deutsches Wörterbuch unterstützt - das wäre noch das iTüpfelchen und würde meine Bewertung auf 5 Sterne anheben!

Please add german dictionary, then 5 stars!

Translation into English (google language tools):

I use this app like to read Japanese web pages. Especially on the iPad, I find it very good to use, is on the iPhone to me a little too fiddly and too small (that is, however, more to the hardware, as the app). Quick look up between times by an unknown concept or determine a reading is thus a breeze and does not disturb the flow of reading.

Sorry, but no German dictionary is supported - that would be the icing on the cake and would raise my rating to 5 stars!
Comments from the developer
I have contacted several times the team of WadoKu Jiten to integrate Wadoku dictionary with Wakaru. They never replied. If you have any idea or contact to reach them, I will be happy to hear from you. 

Excellent App - 5 stars
by Jim1277 - Version 2.0.0 - 1st Aug 2012

Well made, stable, essential for learning Japanese. Very versatile, perfect for websites, storing words easily for later review but also great for listening to podcasts and finding the words you don't recognize. For learning Japanese simply the best link to making native Japanese accessible to the learner. Best app on the market for learning japanese.

Disappointing - 1 star
by Robert Nowobilsky - Version 2.0.2 - 30 July 2012

The app doesn't recognize most of the words correctly. At the moment I'm stuck in the flash card mode and there is no way back to the main menu. I can't find an email address on the support page to get in contact with the programmer of the app.
Comments from the developer
The email to contact the developer is on the App Store and in the app ("information -> contact the developer"). To exit the flashcard mode, a long touch will trigger the menu to appear. Concerning words not recognized, it is possible as no dictionary is ever complete. Still, Wakaru integrates edict dictionary from Jim Breen, featuring more than 160'000 entries. If Robert Nowobilsky could be more specific, I could something to help him. First, he has to find my email address though. 

Perfect - 5 stars
by rsmallfoot - Version 2.0.0 - 2 July 2012

This is a the best app or study aide I have ever used to study Japanese. It's a great product.

Great but lacking a feature - 3 stars
by tsmashace - Version 2.0.0 - 19 Jun 2012

I really enjoy this app so far, especially the aozora bunker e-reader features. That alone has helped me tremendously in reading more Japanese texts.
However, I would just like to clarify somethings that I feel weren't apparent to me at the time of purchase. The app has 3 features accessible from its main menu; a browser, an e-reader connected to aozora bunko, and study lists. The standalone browser can access websites and use its features like define and add to wordlist. But it doesn't integrate with safari as well as I would like it to. Maybe this is a difficulty created from Apple's end. In safari, you can only define a word and not add it to a wordlist. As a matter of fact, that's the only thing you can do outside of the app itself. Maybe this is only important to me, but I prefer to keep these vocabulary words to review later. I'm finding it a critical default, that I can't add to wordlist outside of the app. If I want to do that, I have to copy the URL from safari, paste it into wakaru's browser, highlight the word, and then add it to a wordlist. It would be great to have the add to wordlist functionality available everywhere, ie safari and mail.
In any case, I look forward to this app and it's improvements.
Comments from the developer
What you describe in term of integration with Safari or mail is system-wide and can be done only by Apple. For browsing Japanese sites, why not using Wakaru built-in browser? 

Fiddly. - 3 stars
by riyuen - Version 2.0.0 - 31 May 2012

Does what's on the tin. The interface is quite fiddly though - to get dictionary entries to pop up, you have to highlight a word exactly; go one character over, and the app can no longer find it. Smarter word recognition that works amidst blocks of text like on the rikai-chan add-on for firefox, or even Jim Breen would be a lot more useful, but perhaps this isn't possible on the iPad, since I note the rikaichan browser for the iPad also requires one to highlight words manually. Accessing the additional dictionaries is a bit of a pain too, in that it requires you to swipe across, select the dictionary, which then takes you out of the app, and into that outside dictionary. That's understandable for online dictionaries like goo, but it would be nice if the iOS dictionary entries could just pop up like the JMDict ones do. It would also be handy if there was an option for dictionary entries to pop up in a box underneath the word you're looking up rather than at the bottom of the page, as it breaks up the reading experience looking up and down. Lastly, it would be nice if there was an option to be able to access the dictionaries themselves directly - since the files are already installed, why not?

Many criticisms here that will hopefully be heard, but this is still a massively useful app for reading japanese.
Comments from the developer
Thanks for your review. Your comments have been heard. Selection is smarter (allows a a character tolerance during selection).  I have also added an option to have the dictionary popup in a box. This option is available for iOS dictionary as well as Wakaru built-in dictionary. For external dictionaries, there is no way to have them popup in a box because, well, they are external...

Great app and it is getting better and better! - 5 stars
by Fuzzhouse - Version 1.9.2 - 26 Mar 2012

Initially got the app to replace Skybook (another Aozora bunko reader, but it is only for iphone) when I bought an ipad. Since then, the author of the app has included extra dictionaries support in the app. Also, the app also reads and recognizes Japanese text files (I couldn't get the ibook to recognize the text in order to use the dictionary in ibook). This has made reading Japanese a very good experience on Wakaru. The author is also quick on replying for comments and suggestions.

Overall, a very good app for reading books and surfing Japanese websites!

Muy buena - 5 stars
by Isumarelu - Version 1.9.1 - 13 Feb 2012

Realmente una aplicación muy buena para estudiar japonés. Lo que más me gusta de esta aplicación es la capacidad de leer cuentos e historias japonesas, poder descargar muchas de éstas y al momento de leer poder buscar las palabras desconocidas.

Realmente la recomiendo si quieres leer más en japonés y aprender de una manera divertida.
English translation using google translate
Really a very good to study Japanese. What I like about this application is the ability to read Japanese tales and stories, you can download many of these and when reading unfamiliar words to search.

I really recommend it if you want to read more and learn Japanese in a fun way.

Wakaru aozora bunko - 5 stars
by Pierreulx12345 - Version 1.9.0 - 15 Jan 2012

Fantastic, great interface and yet free. incredible

Wirh the new ranking of books according to kanji difficulty, very easy to choose something adapted to your level. I am around level N2 and the books I am reading are perfectly adapted, interesting and don't have to spend half the time looking things up. Great app. I would have liked to have it right when i began.
Comments from the developer
Thanks for your review. One precision : Wakaru is not free, but still very affordable (only $3.99).

Really good for Aozora! - 5 stars
by Mt69298 - Version 1.8.3 - 1 Dec 2011

Recommended for people wanting to read japanese on their iDevice

Perfect - 5 stars
by rsmallfoot - Version 1.8.1 - 14 Nov 2011

This is a the best app or study aide I have ever used to study Japanese. It's a great product.

Very good! Some hopeful changes in the future maybe... - 5 stars
by Fuzzhouse - Version 1.8.1 - 14 Oct 2011

I also have a iphone version of Skybook (developed for Aozora books) which I love, but it doesn't have a iPad version. I waited until I have an iPad to purchase Wakaru. It is really a great app. I love the instant dictionary as soon as you highlight the words. I have some old files that couldn't be recognized in the ibook (to use its japanese dictionary) can be easily recognized in Wakaru. Very very good.

Couple features I would like to see in the future version. Love the feature of outside dictionaries, but I only have Daijisen and EBpocket, which are not supported in Wakaru (but both are supported in Skybook). Hopefully in the next version, they could be included. Another one is the ability to reorganize the order of the books (drag and drop). Right now, besides sorted by author and imported time, you can't do much with it. I have files that I numbered but imported during different time. It is a bit frustrated not being able to arrange them by their titles. Maybe this could be included in the future too!

By the way, it is nice to see the developer specifies what type of coding Wakaru can recognize (SJIS and UTF8), it is very helpful.
Great app!! Keep up the good work!
Comments from the developer
Thanks for your review. Link to Daijisen is now included as well as the possibility to order ebooks by title.

Wonderful update makes this my go-to app for reading Japanese - 5 stars
by borneostar - Version 1.8.0 - 9 Sept 2011

This new version really makes this a great platform for reading and learning Japanese! The newly added Japanese proper names dictionary will definitely come in handy, and the ability to look up external dictionaries makes Wakaru really live up to its name. Thank you!!

Upgrade not working - 1 star
by g sloss - Version 1.7.0 - 08 August 2011

Just installed the recent upgrade this app was ok now just crashes on opening every time
Comments from the developer
That kind of review is really useless. Putting a bad review on the AppStore won't solve the crash in any way. Contacting directly the developer by email as civilized people do could. What that is also driving me crazy is that this user obviously 
used the App (and maybe liked it) until version 1.7.0 and didn't bother putting a constructing review. On the first problem, instead of contacting the developer, he shoots a one star review. Childish.

Awesome - 5 stars
by Corchox - Version 1.7.0 - 10 July 2011

Man, this app is great. Although If you could add a way of importing the books from 青空文庫, just as in Stanza you download from Project Gutenberg it would be perfect. I know you can browse through it with the Internet browser, but then you gotta open the book in html, copy the whole thing and add it to the library. Then add title and author. They are a bit too many steps.

In Stanza, you browse Project Gutenberg's catalogue, you choose one book. Then it even lets you choose among the different files for that book (here it would be between rubi version vs no rubi version) and the just press download. The book is imported to the app automatically.
Comments from the developer
Thanks for the review. The download function from Aozora Bunko was just added in version 1.7.1

Nice app, still room to grow - 5->3 stars
by borneostar - Version 1.7.0 - 17 June 2011

This is a very convenient app, being able to look up words is great. That said, the existing glossary is way too basic and should be upgraded. Also, it would be great to be able to link other dictionary apps for in-app lookup. The Wisdom E-J dictionary, for example, would be a great choice. The other point of improvement would be better glide performance. Right now, the movement is quite choppy, which makes this app less enjoyable to use. Oh, one more thing: How about providing a Text Only button to display only the article minus the advertisements and other stuff, a la Instapaper (on the PC)? This would make the article reading experience on the limited iPad screen much more enjoyable. Sorry for this pell-mell assortment of ideas, some may not be implementable, but maybe others are. Looking forward to future updates!

*******8-27-2011 update
It's nice to see the developer continually improve this app. That said, the built-in dictionary might be fine for the most casual of readers, but it is simply inadequate for serious reading. Trying to read Japanese literature with this dictionary is like running a race on crutches. Word lookup is the raison d'être of this app. Please allow users to link some of the excellent dictionaries out there. The built-in dictionary cripples this app.
Comments from the developer
I have added the link to external dictionaries. 

One of the best! - 5 stars
by logicpocket - Version 1.7.0 - 02 June 2011

This app is absolutely essential for anyone using an iPod or iPhone as a study tool. I am always happy to see a new version because I know it's just going to get better and better.

A Must-Have if you're learning Japanese - 5 stars
by Reala Ace - Version 1.7.0 - 25 May 2011

In my opinion the best way to learn a language is to read books and look up any words you don't know. When you look up the same word enough times, you will remember it naturally. Wakaru makes looking up words so much easier and the flash-card is a great feature that allows you to go back and review any words you've looked up. 

Right now the web browser and the ebook reader still kind of basic without too many features and customizations. However, the author continuing to improve the app and is also very responsive to the users. I have sent her some suggestions for improvements and she will implement it in the next release!

If you're learning Japanese by yourself, you should get this app.

Awesome APP! VERY GOOD PRACTICE READING / Request to increase font size beyond 3x please :) - 5 stars
by ipodkangaeteru - Version 1.6.2 - 19 April 2011

This is a good application and comes with sample books to practice reading. Its like rikaichan for highlighting and I am enjoying it a lot

Request for developer: Can you increase the magnification and font size more? It has a button to go to 3x magnification, but can you make it more, because it still too small for my eyes. They hurt sometimes.

Thank you so much.

Very good - 4 stars
by Shimanchew - Version 1.6.2 - 10 April 2011

This is a great alternative to rikaichan. The built in study list is a nice feature and look forward to seeing that get more developed.

Best tool for Japanese reading practice! - 5 stars
by Ol14 - Version 1.6.1 - 15 March 2011

This is great, works like the rikai-chan browser plugin for the web. More than that you can add any text to get the same lookup functions eg copy Japanese emails, reading texts in and decipher them. You can autosave your lookups as flashcards to expand your vocabulary. Any Japanese learner should have this.

U need this app -  5 stars
by SAsendai - Version 1.6.1 - 15 March 2011

there might be room for improvement but still one of the top 3 japanese apps

Excellent -  5 stars
by Chuckles1234 - Version 1.5.0 - 26 February 2011

I was looking for an app that would work as a dictionary built into my browser so that I didn't have to switch between dictionary and Internet every time I came across a word I didn't know. This app does that and more. The dictionary is very good and the function that allows you to create your own study lists automatically and then export them by email is great. I now use this app all the time for reading Japanese news on the web and then creating study lists of words I don't know that I then import to a flashcard app.s

What I have been looking for -  5 stars
by Michaels1980 - Version 1.5.0 - 24 January 2011

Would certainly recommend this to students of Japanese. It allows unknown words to be looked up as you read texts, just like rikaichan. I have not seen any bugs and it performs very well. I used to use ibunko, now switched to this because it is so much easier not switching to another app to look something up. 

Ottima per leggere e studiare -  4 stars
by buroggu - Version 1.5.0 - 20 January 2011

Uso Wakaru da qualche giorno, e lo trovo veramente utile come supporto alla lettura di romanzi giapponesi (i testi dovete procurarveli voi, a meno che non vi accontentiate di leggere libri royalty-free come quelli di Natsume Soseki, di cui alcuni sono già forniti nel'applicazione). Consiglio di scegliere nelle preferenze la modalità di ricerca "auto-lookup", che attiva la ricerca delle parole senza bisogno di cliccare ogni volta su "search". 

Awesome! -  5 stars
by Rachael S. - Version 1.5.0 - 14 January 2011

I love this app!

Best app for reading Japanese texts and webpages! -  5 stars
by OvtH - Version 1.4.0 - 2 January 2011

Wakaru has become quickly my favorite and most used app. The instant Japanese to English dictionary makes reading any Japanese text  (ebooks, self-imported texts and web-pages) so much easier and therefore a lot of fun! I have used other applications like SkyBook and an ebook reader like the Kindle as well, but for people who need/want to use an Japanese-English dictionary while they are OFF-LINE, Wakaru is (one of) the best!

The pros:
- It is very easy to use!
- it works off-line! (as opposed to SkyBook, which only offers a Japanese English dictionary while on-line)
- the dictionary is integrated, meaning, you don't need to leave the text (let alone the application) (as opposed to SkyBook, where you leave the application, adding time to each search)
- It works both for ebooks and texts, as well as for web-pages, while surfing the Internet (on-line of course).
- It has the option to automatically add the words that you look up to a studylist, so you can review the words you are not familiar with.
- The studylists can be used as flash-cards (although they can not (yet?) be set to appear randomly), making studying vocabulary much easier and therefore more fun!

The cons:
-  I can't think of any other than that the app crashed on me once (so far). I contacted the programmer and I got an almost instant reply. To prevent loss of data in case of a crash, I recommend the use of the iTunes file sharing function or a file sharing program like DiskAid (to copy files/texts) to and from you iPhone/iPod Touch.
- The programmer said he is working on a (welcome) option to list the files not only in order of writer, but also in order of "most recently read".

Wakaru is a great, easy-to-use app for reading Japanese with instant Japanese to English look-up.
Comments from the developer
The crashes observed in version 1.4.0 have been solved in version 1.5.0.  

This is the Japanese app the iPhone has been missing -  5 stars
by Blahah404 - Version 1.4.0 - 20 December 2010

At last, an app which brings the pop-up dictionary to the iPhone and iPad.

This app delivers an almost-perfect experience. You can download novels from Aozora Bunko (, copy/paste them from another app or transfer them via iTunes; or you can view the internet. Then you can read with four font sizes (in book mode, zoomable text in internet mode) and lockable orientation with the pop-up dictionary at your fingertips. The 'library' section where you read books displays text with a pleasing contrast of black text against a creamy-coloured background, similar to that of iBunko or Stanza, which reduces eye-strain. You can adjust the brightness of the screen easily from within the app using a slider. If your text has furigana, they are displayed correctly formatted above the kanji. To move between pages, you swipe left and right. Tapping anywhere on the screen brings up a little menu at the top with font size options and the brightness slider, as well as the button to take you back to the list of books.

When you use the pop-up dictionary to look up a word, you can tap a button to add that word to you 'study list', which can then be drilled in a question and answer format from within the app, or exported for use in an SRS such as Anki (it emails you an HTML table). There is a setting which allows words to be automatically added to a study list when you look them up. You can also directly search the dictionary when not reading, and again there is a button to add the word to your study list. The study list contains the word in kanji, the reading, and a full set of concise definitions - perfect for SRSing. You can also add your own notes to entries in the study list.

Overall, the app is brilliant and is what many Japanese learners have been seeking for a long time. At just $1.99/£1.19 this is incredible value, and actually I would encourage the developers to charge more for this or they'll never make a decent return on their time. The product is easily worth $10.

I have some more suggestions for the developers. I feel adding these things would really make this app shine:
- Give the option of vertical text display (like in iBunko)
- Browse Aozora from within the app, not using a browser view (again, like iBunko)
- Allow tap-to-turn pages in the book mode (i.e. tap right to progress one page, tap left to go back one). Swiping the screen over and over isn't everyone's preference.
- Give an option to 'auto-lookup' when you select text, so you don't have to press a 'search' button to use the dictionary.
- Format the exported study list as a CSV file, not an HTML table. This would allow people to import the list into a huge range of programs, whilst HTML tables are not importable in many apps.

I also want to say thanks to the developers - I've been waiting for something like this for a really long time, and you guys have done it really well. Keep up the good work! 頑張って下さい!
Comments from the developer
Thanks for the in-depth review. Most of the suggestions have been implemented in 1.5.0 and 1.6.0 versions (export in csv, auto-lookup, vertical text layout, tap-to-turn)

Rikaichan-like Browser -  4 stars
by sigheye - Version 1.3.1 - 4 October 2010

Highly useful app for learners of Japanese. Browse JP websites or read e-books, highlight kanji, and get meanings/readings instantly. Save them to a list and export for flashcard use, very convenient. 

It would be great if we could upload e-book (.txt) files using iTunes app file sharing and also use a Retina Display icon for the SpringBoard!
Comments from the developer
The suggestions have been implemented in 1.4.0 version (upload of ebook using file sharing and Retina display icon in the springboard)  

Good concept and a great app -  5 stars
by Berean_315 - Version 1.1 - 4 June 2010

Thought I would spend the $1.99 to try this out.  A good concept, and it would be even better to use on the i-pad with a larger screen.  After getting used to highlighting words it actually works pretty well. Have been using it almost everyday to read Japanese news. Definitely recommend it for Japanese learners wanting to read Japanese websites, but their kanji is limited. 5 stars.
Comments from the developer
iPad version has been introduced in 1.5.0 version.